Book Quiz

1. What is your favourite book and/or book series of all time?

My favorite book is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

2. What is the longest book you have ever read? How many pages?

Anna Karenina is the longest book I have read. It’s 864 pages.

3. What is the oldest book you have ever read? (Based on its written date)
The oldest book I have ever read is The Collected Essays of Ralph Waldo Emerson. They were orginally published in 1841.

4. What is a book series that everyone else loves but you do not?
I couldn’t get into Fifty Shades of Grey.

5. What book or book series would you like to see turned into a film/ TV series?

I would love to see Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon van Booy turned into a film.

6. What is your favourite stand-alone book?

White Oleander is definitely one of my favorite stand-alone books, but I have so many.

7. What is a book that you feel glad for not reading?

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews.

8. What is a book that you feel guilty for not  reading?
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

9. What is a book you have read that is set in your country of birth?
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

10. What is a book that you own more than one copy of?
On the Road by Jack Kerouac, White Oleander by Janet Fitch.

11. What horror book made you really scared?

The Dark Half by Stephen King

12. What book do you passionately hate?

The Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer

13. What is the biggest book series you have read? How many books are in it?

I don’t read a lot of book series. I guess I could say Sweet Valley High or Babysitter’s Club books I read when I was a girl.

14. What book gives you happy memories?

The World and Other Places by Jeanette Winterson because it reminds me of my friend who compared my writing style to Winterson when I was about fifteen or sixteen, and when a pair of my friends in college bought me a copy of the book of short stories when I lost mine.

15. What book made you cry?

Looking for Alaska by John Green.

16. What book made you laugh?

Lamb: the Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore.

17. What is your favourite book that contains an LGBTQ+ character?

Favorite? That’s tough to say. Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters was pretty awesome.

18. Have you read a book with a male protagonist? What is it?

The Giver by Lois Lowry, one of my favorite novels as a young girl.

19. Have you read a book set on another planet? What is it?
None that I can think of.

20. Have you ever been glad to not finish a series? Which?
Fifty Shades of Grey

21. Have you ever read a book series because you were pressured?

Twilight. My ex’s sister recommended I read them, and she wouldn’t stop talking about them until I read all of them.

22. What famous author have you not read any books by?
I haven’t read any George R.R. Martin.

23. Who is your favorite author of all time?

There are a lot: I love the works of Simon van Booy, Jeanette Winterson, and Jack Kerouac, to name a few. I like a lot of authors because my taste is so eclectic.

24. How many bookshelves do you own?
Two, but then, I have a big tub of books at my parents’ house.

25. How many books do you own?
Not a clue.

26. What is your favorite non-fiction book?

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.

27. What is your favourite children’s/middle-grade book?

I loved Shel Silverstein poems when I was young. They’re still pretty amazing. Those or Winnie the Pooh.

28. What is your next book on your TBR?

Not sure.

29. What book are you currently reading?

Sophie’s World.

30. What book are you planning on buying next?

Not a clue.

31. What was the cheapest book you bought?
A fifty cent book I bought at a book sale.

32. What was the most expensive book you bought?
Probably a hard-cover for $20-$30.

33. What is a book you read after seeing the movie/ TV series?

I plan on reading Thirteen Reasons Why after I watch the Netflix show.

34. What is the newest book you have bought?

I guess it would have been when I went to Barnes and Noble and bought I Wrote This for You.

35. What three books are you most looking forward to reading this year?

Homesick for another World by Ottessa Moshfegh, Our Numbered Days by Neil Hilborn, and 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami.

36. What is a book you love that has a terrible trope? (Love triangle, etc)

Definitely Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon van Booy; sure, it’s a love triangle, but it is written so eloquently, it makes me wish I wrote sentences that sing.

37. Have you read a book in a different language? What was it?

I read some of the Ovid when I was in high school from the original Latin.

40. What is the weirdest book you have read?

I tried to read Cloud Atlas and Slade House, both by David Mitchell, and they were too weird and had too many subplots for me.

41. What is your favorite duology?

Don’t know.

42. What is your favorite trilogy?

Not sure.

43. What book did you buy because of its cover?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

44. What is a book that you love, but has a terrible cover?

I really don’t know if I have a book that has a terrible cover. Some may be boring, but none are terrible.

45. Do you own a poetry anthology? What is your favorite poem from it?

I do own a couple. My favorite poem is “Our Past” by Anne Waldman.

46. Do you own any colouring books based off other books?

I don’t.

47. Do you own any historical fiction?

Yes.
48. What book made you angry?

We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver.

49. What book has inspired you?

There have been so many that have inspired me during different points in my life. I cannot begin to think of all of them.

50. What book got you into reading?

The Story about Ping I stole it from my teacher’s book shelf and would reread it all by myself over and over again.

Leave a Reply

