Opposites Attract: Day Six of a Poem a Day

leaf.jpg

The prompt is:

“Write a poem about two completely different things.”

You stick to me
like satin on Velcro.
(As in not at all.)
Your heart is like a stone
with a beat.

I wouldn’t have loved you
had I known it would have been
a game of hide & seek.

I feel like I’m rummaging through
lost & found, searching for fragments
of my heart.
Digging up artifacts left behind.
(I found letters you swear you never wrote,
rings you promised you would never buy,
& memories you told me you had forgotten.)

The distance from where I stand
to where your heart is
clocks in at miles.
(The years I spent on you
were never wasted,
but they were vagrants,
squirreling away at remnants
of a life unlived, a journey unexplored.)

I thought by my side you would stay,
but you stick to me like satin on Velcro.

 

Leave a Reply

