Waking Up Slanted: Day Twelve of a Poem a Day

“Turn on the radio to any channel.  Write a poem inspired by the first thing you hear (lyrics to a song, a commercial, etc.)”

“Hey, I was doing just fine
before I met you.
I drink too much,
and that’s an issue,
but I’m okay.”

A cup of bourbon for dinner.
A tumbler of whiskey for dessert.
(You may call me an alcoholic,
but it was always under control.)

A cocktail of blurry memories
& blacking out underneath the stars.

There were nights of conquests
where names weren’t important.
There were nights drink was my only friend.

But then I met you, and the world flipped
right-side up. No longer was the sky my enemy,
the stars–my foes.

A cup of bourbon for dinner.
A tumbler of whiskey for dessert.

I was laughing with tears in my eyes.
I was hoping no one would notice how lonely I was
surrounded by a hundred of my closest friends.
(I woke up with strangers in my bed,
and the masquerade continued when they told me “love”.
I never knew how to be myself when surrounded by strangers.
Strangers claiming to be my best friend,
strangers claiming to be my lovers.)

I never woke up with a raging hangover.
I never woke up so lonely as I did next to
someone who was not you.
(I woke up slanted, at a tilt.
That’s what happens when you drink bourbon for dinner
and whiskey for dessert.)

My regrets number like the stars.
I wish I had met you first before
all the mistakes I made.

You have to make your bed
and lie in it, they said.

Bourbon was my best friend.
Whiskey–my lover.

But then I met you,
and my regrets number like the stars.

Leave a Reply

