Sleeping with the Angels

Even now, the flowers weep, knowing you sleep with the angels.
Even now, girls who barely knew you have smudged mascara from the tears that fall.
Even now, memories feel too distant, and you feel too far removed.
(You’ve been gone for years now, but nobody bothered to tell me.
You’ve been walking around, a living corpse, and I thought you were alive & well.)

I feel sorry I couldn’t have stopped you.
I don’t know what took you in the end,
but I have faced those demons.

One phrase kept me alive through it all.
Maybe it could have saved you too,
but hope was smothered by the demons,
destroyed by the devils dancing in your head.

I wish I could have been there.
I know the feeling all too well.
The demons dance in my head too.

I’m so sorry I wasn’t there,
but then again, neither were you.
(You were consumed by the darkness,
lost to all of us forever before you fell
for the last time.)

 

Leave a Reply

