Little Victories: Day Twenty-Two of a Poem a Day

The children remind me
I did not always aspire to be
what I am now.
Though I may now be an office assistant,
I hear the cries of my young self,
demanding I be a pirate
or a private eye or an author.

The children remind me
my dreams are within my grasp,
anything that tells me otherwise
is just an excuse.

The children remind me
I may not be a pirate or a private eye,
but I can still follow my dreams wherever
they may take me.

The children remind me dreams are not just dreams,
but you have to work for them and make them goals.

The children remind me I can do anything if I want it.
The children remind me they don’t forget the promises
I made, why should I?

I dreamed of greater things than this,
I dreamed of conquering the world,
putting pushpins in all the places I had been.

I haven’t traveled as much as I thought,
but I have published a book of poetry,

and the inner child celebrates the small victories.

And so shall I celebrate the small victories.

 

Leave a Reply

