Castles: Poem Twenty-Four of a Poem a Day

Hide me
(keep me safe)
in the castle of your arms.

I had a moat built around my heart,
damning those who tried to enter
to a watery grave.

I had written “no trespassers”
in the gardens.

You broke all the rules,
crossed through the gardens,
waded through the moat,
and found my fragile heart.
(You never bothered to tell me
you found beauty in the broken.
I could have played a trick like Medusa,
turned my heart to stone–instead of you–
but I was vulnerable, a coward.)

I never considered love after my life
had been trespassed upon.

(My feelings fondled,
my love lusted after.)

I felt like the dirty picture
he masturbated to every night,
and when he soiled my memories
like I was just an empty sock,
I thought no one would love me
again.

I cordoned off bits of my heart,
wrote poetry that pleased people’s ears,
but my honesty hid behind metaphors
and similes.

You beat down the walls,
collapsed the doors, and stormed
the bits of my broken heart
to rescue me from the dragons
(that are my memories).

You are the prince,
you showed me beauty
and repaired a heart deemed broken.
You held me, kept me safe,
in the castle of your arms.

2 thoughts on “Castles: Poem Twenty-Four of a Poem a Day

Leave a Reply

