Children of the Unforgiving: Poem Twenty-Five of a Poem a Day

You never uttered an apology. (You would much rather forget than forgive.)
I’ll apologize a million years for a slight that never existed.
Tell you I’m sorry over and over again.
You never told me why you don’t love me. Is it because I wouldn’t wear my hair
in curls or because I got mud on my party dresses?

You never admitted to me the ways you’ve wronged me, but you bring up
my every slightest sin in the heat of the moment.
You never uttered an apology.

Forgive me. Forget me. It doesn’t matter anymore. I’m only your child after all.

2 thoughts on “Children of the Unforgiving: Poem Twenty-Five of a Poem a Day

    1. Thank you so much! You know when I wrote it, I wasn’t really thinking about whether or not it was relatable, but I appreciate the feedback, it makes me a better author. I might just change it now that I have some hindsight and advice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

