Dry Spell

After a longer-than-expected hiatus from writing (and watching a lot more Netflix and Hulu than a girl should), I have decided I need to return to writing. It is a need so great I think it affects my personality. I haven’t felt like myself in a few months, which is why I haven’t been writing, but in some ways it is a vicious cycle. It’s easy to get trapped by the normalcy of life and the mundane, but I miss the fantastical, dreamlike world of novel and short story writing. I won’t make any grand statements claiming to write every day, but I will make every effort to write more. More fiction, more short stories, more poetry.

With planning my wedding and going to school part time in addition to working, it has been a hectic time, but really I have been struggling with my own personal demons and therefore not writing. But that’s no longer going to be the case. No matter what demons I’m fighting, my writing–my catharsis, my saving grace–well hopefully no longer feel the brunt of my hectic life. Starting today, I’m going to make more effort to focus on my writing, my blogs, and my photography.

I forgot how much I need this outlet. My priorities lie as such: first, I need to finish my novel; second, I need to start writing poetry and short stories; third, I need to edit my novel and work on my second one.

That’s all for now. Thanks for your patience and understanding.

Leave a Reply

